Nipples for Tots vs. Titty for Man

3 08 2007

There is a reason why I’ve spent half of my adult life in a strip bar. The club is not the real world. In the real world men can’t make up their mind what on earth they want women to do.

In the club the duties are simple: Shake, Rattle and Roll! Come one come all to the T and A show. It is a mindless party.

In the real world things are a lot different. In the real world I’ve been having babies for 15 years and I would not been able to nurture and breastfed them if I worked a regular 9-5 job. Breastfeeding is just too consuming. Breastfeeding is a true labor of LOVE.

Thursday morning, on NBC’s Today Show, Meredith Vieria interviewed Dr. Nancy Snyderman. They spoke of the recent (Tuesday) announcement by New York City Health officials- the government has banned the use and promotion of baby formula in city hospitals.

This means that women of color, women who don’t have support systems, women who deliver in New York City hospitals don’t have a choice whether to bottle fed or nurse their babies!

I am an advocate of breastfeeding children. I nursed both of my sons for 2 solid years each and am presently nursing my almost 8 month old daughter- but I find this decision absurd.

Women should be given the right to choose between formula or breast even though breast milk is best.

The government should not force a new mother to breastfed.

Breastfeeding is an process that needs education and support to be done successfully. My mother breastfed my siblings. I watched her do it. I was blessed to have a lay midwife five months into my first pregnancy that educated me on what exactly to expect from breastfeeding. It was a one on one deal and I had her home phone number.

Last of all, I don’t stand for a jealous man telling me what, when, where or how to nurse my baby.

Oh yeah, husbands and boyfriends get jealous of new babies and they be wanting some of that milk too. Don’t think I haven’t woke up to find a baby on one titty and a daddy on the other!

It takes a certain type of broad to say: ‘ Hold up, partner, You better call Tyrone cuz that ain’t going on or have a little taste and beat it!’

Some Sisters know what I’m talking about, but all these young girls don’t have that schooling. So now the government is telling these young mothers that they don’t have a choice.

Lay midwives are illegal in most states. La Leche League offers some guidance but do they have the members to support every woman giving birth in New York?

Only recently did women gain the right to breastfed in public without scrutiny. People still look at me uncomfortably when I pop the tit in my daughters mouth at a restaurant. Now all the sudden breastfeeding is it in New York?

Hold on just a cotton picking minute! I would like to know how much education is going to be given to these new mothers. Mothers are no longer allowed a 5 day stay in a hospital after giving birth.

Most women don’t get the real milk in their breasts for 48-72 hours after giving birth. Nothing that is said to a woman in a quick hospital room visit can prepare her for the discomfort of engorgement when she gets home.

What if the woman has other small dependent children at home with only herself to care for them. What if she had them before the ban and gave all of them the bottle?

What about postpartum depression added to the pressure of having to breastfed? Stressed out women don’t make a lot of milk.

The labor of love part comes in for the woman who wants to breastfed and enjoys the bonding of breastfeeding and is prepared for the ups, downs and cracked nipples.

What about the babies that have trouble latching on? This trouble latching on can last for days. What if the baby is a lazy nurser? How long does it take for a baby to dehydrate?

What about the mother’s health and her level of hydration and nutrition.

I was served coffee in the hospital by the hospital cafeteria after giving birth the third time. Obviously I didn’t drink it or eat any of the hospital food. My friends brought me in raw, green vegetables and fresh green juices to drink.

Are the new mothers being taught the signs of dehydration?

Is the hospital just going to tell the mother to come back in if she becomes constipated. It happened to me the second go round because I was eating so much oatmeal. I would love to read this new take home package that goes along with this ban on bottles.

What about feeding times for babies? Are these health officials educating women on optional feeding schedules? For example, feeding on demand versus putting the baby on a schedule. I feed on demand.

How does the government think that they can step in and cover all this material? It is different for each woman.

I’m a stripper- I feel perfectly comfortable popping my titties out anytime or anyplace. I’ll do it for a dollar and I’ll do it when my babies are hungry. I’m completely shameless but I am in business because most women are afraid to use their titties for anything including feeding their babies.

The titty has been banned and misconstrued for so long a woman generally doesn’t like the idea of babies sucking on their nipples. I think that some women think that titties are for their men to have and to hold.

I remember being told a story of woman back in the olden days who wanted to breastfed but she given tablets to dry up their milk in the hospital without their knowledge.

What are we womenfolk?

At least when I am climbing a pole Shaking, Rattling and Rolling I’m getting tipped to be a robot.

Go to http://www.cafepress.com/mysterymika101

for original pregnancy Mystery Mika items. You will be surprised what your eyes will find there!


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

