Dog Gone Skimpy

19 10 2007

butcaged.jpg

AMERICA is obsessed with dogs. If you didn’t already know that then you should know NOW given the recent drama played out after Ellen Degeneres cried like a girl on her show over Iggygate.

Make some noise.

MIKA has 2 rescued dogs! I love them but they are really expensive and time consuming because they have special needs that require extra attention. Anybody else what have gotten rid of them both by now. I’m not that smart.

The truth is I can see myself in these mutts. They were moved around several times before they landed on my door step. Poor Butterfield exhibits the behavior of a dog that has been hit with a broom.

About Butterfield

3 years old cock a poo

I didn’t go off adopting a dog- this dog cried his way into my home. He originally lived with a neighbor who did not understand any of his woes.

Help us damn it! Donate to my relief.
Ellen got the fans all worked up over her puppy mismatch… My problems are far worse than that. I’m a dog gone mutt slave. I slide for cash to keep from feeding them commercial dog food!

I swing from a pole and am willing to mud wrestle for brownie points… paypal quick. Save my dignity!

Butterfield came to me with super terrible potty habits. He refused to walk on a leash and he has allergies. His eyes were always a muck.

In less than a year, Butterfield has gained weight, his coat is lush and he is comfortable being led on a leash… but he still pees whenever he feels like it. Unless the couple is sunning on the back deck, I give them water 4 times a day. Nothing after 10pm. When the dogs are on their 25foot porch led- water is always available. I can’t stand to think Butterfield throat would be dry after barking at squirrels running along the telephone wire and poles.

If the watering schedule doesn’t help improve Butterfield’s piss problems before the cold weather really sets in-I’ll hate it but I will put him in a kennel when I leave the house – I can’t stand worrying about dog pee spattered all over the walls. His favorite place to pee is on my Kleenex box.

Yuck.

About Ruby Valentine

6 year old Shitsu Beagle bad mix of a hunting dog and lap dog. She is so confused!

She’s the boss- we were her family first. She recently came down with a urinary tract infection. The vet sent a prescription for CIPROFLOXACIN HCL 250mg. The pharmacy technician gave me 50 questions because the name on the script sounded made up.

Ruby K9 Young

Anyway I felt guilty for the infection- I thought that she wasn’t getting enough water because of the water schedule…

Well Ruby is attractive… to fleas. Last year I had to bomb the house twice and clean all the bedding and my car. It would’ve been such a big deal if I had not of been 6 months pregnant.

I’ll never forget the urgency of driving around looking for a car wash that was open when it looked like it was about to rain. Finally I gave up and pulled into one of those self service drive up car washes that requires quarters.

It was a cloudy late Sunday afternoon by the time I got all the bedding packed into the car and my son buckled in. I went back upstairs to set off the flea bombs.

Ruby Valentine had an appointment at the local Pet Smart for an emergency flea bath. Once she was dropped off I went to the laundry to put our bedding into a HOT wash. I figured that I had everything time as right as it could be timed to all get completed in one day.

Once the 2 loads (my bed, my son’s bed and Ruby’s Bed) where in the wash I set out to find a car wash to clean the inside of my car.

Surprise. Car washes close when it smells like rain in Chicago. Nothing was open. I’ll never forget the urgency of driving around looking for a car wash that was open when it looked like it was about to rain. Finally I gave up and pulled into one of those half ass, self service, drive up car washes that requires quarters.

I’d used all my quarters for the laundry. I had to wait until someone else drove in to get change. Meanwhile the clock was ticking… Ruby was supposed to be picked up in 2 hours and the clothes at the laundry needed to be put in the dryer.

And I was pregnant. Yeah right.

Finally I got change. As soon as I got my hose to start the lather over the interior rug the cloud opened… down came the rain.

It rained solid until my silk dress stuck to my rotund belly. After about 3 minutes in the cool rain – I started to cry and then sob

I sobbed because I was exhausted I was embarrassed for my son to see me in this condition of helplessness. I sobbed because the soap ran out and I didn’t have the proper tools to get between the cracks… I cried because it was going to be an expensive day and I cried because I still needed to get everything into the house and open the windows to let out the flea bomb mist.

I cried because life really sucked at the moment

But-

I kept my dog

She smelled so good and looked so cute with her very short flea- go- away- puppy- cut.

She kissed me with thanks for realizing that she had fleas and wasn’t scratching because of allergies- this time.

My son told me that he was so proud of me for doing it all by myself.

butterrubyoutside1.jpg


Actions

Information

One response

19 10 2007
My Personal “Keep Me Up To Date On The Top News” blog » Dog Gone Skimpy

[…] Check it out! While looking through the blogosphere we stumbled on an interesting post today.Here’s a quick excerptIf the watering schedule doesn’t help improve Butterfield’s piss problems before the cold weather really sets in-I’ll hate it but I will put him in a kennel when I leave the house – I can’t stand worrying about dog pee spattered all … […]

Leave a Reply

